HP LightScribe 16X DVD+R Media 300 Pack in Cake Box (DRLS16050CB)

Review of HP LightScribe 16X DVD+R Media 300 Pack in Cake Box (DRLS16050CB)


Overall Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5.0
Based on a total of 137 review(s)
In Stock
Free Shipping

Usually leaves our warehouse in 1 business day(s). Estimated Arrival Time
Price: 
$647.64
QTY 
Add To Cart
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
3.0
Overall
5.0
HP manufactures 1st class LightScribe media at economy prices. No coasters!
By on 12/12/2010
I've used HP's LightScribe DVDs preferentially now for over a year. I have no complaints about the DVDs. My only real complaint is about UPS, which apparently uses ox-drawn wagons to travel between California and Chicago, as well as gorillas in its sorting facilities! I changed from a Samsung SH-S223L DVD writer to a Samsung SH-B123L Blu-Ray combo drive recently. Write speed using this media slowed from 16X to 14X and average LightScribe write times increased from 3min. to 4min. Hopefully, this is a firmware glitch that Samsung will eventually address.
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Great selection of stocked items and fast delivery with standard shipping.
By on 12/02/2010
DVD's work great and are competitively priced.
Quality
4.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
price and quality are great. delivery was fast
By on 11/28/2010
Product has always been great.
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Excellent
By on 11/24/2010
Was very satisfied with order and delivery time. Will order again from SuperMediaStore.
Quality
5.0
Price
4.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Great Deal
By on 11/01/2010
These are genuine HP Lightscribe discs. Some other brands cost more and the image fades after a few months. These hold up well and are at a great price. I have never had a problem with an HP Lightscribe disc.
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Fantastic Buy!
By on 10/31/2010
An excellant product, great price, fast shipping. Whats not to like?
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Perfect for light scribe labeling on my HP Pavilion notebook!
By on 10/26/2010
These dvds are the bomb dot com!!! I would recommend them for any dvd labeling!!! Such a nice and neat concept to the paper labeling.
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Great product
By on 10/25/2010
Fast delivery, great product, terrific price and free shipping, a terrific deal.
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
AAA
By on 10/24/2010
Very pleased with order.
Quality
3.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
4.0
Good Price
By on 10/20/2010
CMC Magnetics makes these discs; MID (manufacturer I.D.): CMC MAG M01-00. (The MID is written to the disc in the reserved area, and can be read by most burning programs.) CMC is based in Taiwan and is one of the largest manufacturers of optical media, including such brands as HP, Imation, Memorex, Philips, TDK, Verbatim (Life series only), Staples, Office Depot brand, and many OEM brands.

So what? Well, this is real mass-market stuff, where price is the most important consideration. It has a reputation as second-class media at such tech hobbyist websites as myce.com (formerly cdfreaks), nomorecoasters.com, videohelp.com, et.al. That means it is considered hit and miss, not nearly as reliable as first-class media. Mitsubishi Chemical and Taiyo Yuden are generally thought to be first-class. The former is sold as Verbatim Data Life Plus, the latter available in the U.S. by online order only. Like from Super Media Store.

These HP discs might not be the best choice for critical backups, but then again, for really important data you should have redundant backups.

That said, I have used a couple hundred of these discs for the past year without a failure. The Lightscribe label side produces good contrast.

As always, Super Media Store shipped these promptly, and their price is as low as you'll find anywhere.