HP LightScribe 16X DVD+R Media 300 Pack in Cake Box (DRLS16050CB)

Review of HP LightScribe 16X DVD+R Media 300 Pack in Cake Box (DRLS16050CB)


Overall Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5.0
Based on a total of 133 review(s)
In Stock
Free Shipping

Usually leaves our warehouse in 1 business day(s). Estimated Arrival Time
Price: 
$647.64
QTY 
Add To Cart
Quality
5.0
Price
4.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Great Deal
By Steve on 11/01/2010
These are genuine HP Lightscribe discs. Some other brands cost more and the image fades after a few months. These hold up well and are at a great price. I have never had a problem with an HP Lightscribe disc.
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Fantastic Buy!
By Bob Marshall on 10/31/2010
An excellant product, great price, fast shipping. Whats not to like?
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Perfect for light scribe labeling on my HP Pavilion notebook!
By Kaytlin on 10/26/2010
These dvds are the bomb dot com!!! I would recommend them for any dvd labeling!!! Such a nice and neat concept to the paper labeling.
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Great product
By William on 10/25/2010
Fast delivery, great product, terrific price and free shipping, a terrific deal.
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
AAA
By Robert Linker on 10/24/2010
Very pleased with order.
Quality
3.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
4.0
Good Price
By Philip on 10/20/2010
CMC Magnetics makes these discs; MID (manufacturer I.D.): CMC MAG M01-00. (The MID is written to the disc in the reserved area, and can be read by most burning programs.) CMC is based in Taiwan and is one of the largest manufacturers of optical media, including such brands as HP, Imation, Memorex, Philips, TDK, Verbatim (Life series only), Staples, Office Depot brand, and many OEM brands.

So what? Well, this is real mass-market stuff, where price is the most important consideration. It has a reputation as second-class media at such tech hobbyist websites as myce.com (formerly cdfreaks), nomorecoasters.com, videohelp.com, et.al. That means it is considered hit and miss, not nearly as reliable as first-class media. Mitsubishi Chemical and Taiyo Yuden are generally thought to be first-class. The former is sold as Verbatim Data Life Plus, the latter available in the U.S. by online order only. Like from Super Media Store.

These HP discs might not be the best choice for critical backups, but then again, for really important data you should have redundant backups.

That said, I have used a couple hundred of these discs for the past year without a failure. The Lightscribe label side produces good contrast.

As always, Super Media Store shipped these promptly, and their price is as low as you'll find anywhere.
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
good price
By Wayne on 10/19/2010
I have purchased these many times and I am very satisfied with this product.
Quality
3.0
Price
3.0
Delivery
3.0
Overall
3.0
Great
By Adam on 10/17/2010
Love the discs and they are always in stock and at a competitive price. Ships fast also. Thanks
Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Delivery
5.0
Overall
5.0
Great transaction
By William on 10/17/2010
Great transaction
Quality
3.0
Price
3.0
Delivery
3.0
Overall
3.0
See through lightscribe media... poor quality and piliates.
By Gabor on 10/12/2010
I purchased two HP Lightscribe version 1.2 16x DVD+R media 50 pack in a cake box for a reasonable price and from a well known manufacturer “HP”. I burned ten DVD’s and tested on my desktop computer w/ ASUS M3A70 PRO motherboard and an HP dvd1270 lightscribe burner. These Medias worked fine on my desktop computer, but I then played the media on my Panasonic DVD/VHS Home Theater Sound System model# SA-HT830V and each media pixilated. I don’t know if it is due to the thickness of the HP media at .048 inch compared to Verbatim Lightscribe 30 pack cake which measures .050 inch. I think it is more based on the Lightscribe Gold film that is on the media. HP’s media is almost transparent compared to Verbatim. I believe during the burning process is when data is corrupted. I am very disappointed in SuperMediaStore for selling a product with such poor quality. I don’t think I’ll be purchasing anymore media here, but will go back to their competitor at newegg.com.